Question on assigning trim wheel and yoke.

Discussions and general chat

Moderator: RussDirks

Post Reply
maxam
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:08 am

Question on assigning trim wheel and yoke.

Post by maxam » Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:56 am

Hi Russ,

I am new to your excellent program only having received my Iris flight yoke the other day. Up until now I have been using FSUIPC to assign aileron, elevator, trim, rudder, brakes, throttle etc. For the most part I have been trying to figure out how to assign the Saitek Trim Wheel. I assigned the trim wheel in FSUIPC but have also seen there is a selection to assign the trim system in the profile editor to use FS Force. I haven't felt the force on the elevator soften (centering force) when the aircraft is trimmed just like a real aircraft, so I must be doing something wrong.

Should I assign the yoke in the Prepar3D v3.4 controls menu or in FSUIPC? I have been searching the net for posts and I have read through the FS-Force Help .htm pages.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Regards,

Robert
Burnaby BC

RussDirks
Site Admin
Posts: 693
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: Chilliwack, Canada

Re: Question on assigning trim wheel and yoke.

Post by RussDirks » Fri Oct 28, 2016 11:00 pm

Hi Robert,

Trim commands (buttons or trimwheel), must not be assigned via FSUIPC. Set them up normally in FSX, and then in addition, assign them in Profile Manager. This is so that FS Force can intercept trim commands and prevent them from reaching FSX, which is what enables FS Force to provide the functionality that it does. FSUIPC uses an control input injection technique that prevents FS Force from doing that.

Pretty much everything else can be assigned via FSUIPC if you want, with two exceptions relating to Yoke Addon customers: if you intend to use the Aileron remapping feature, ailerons must be assigned in FSX, not via FSUIPC. Similarly, if you intend on using the Autopilot Follow feature, the elevator must be assigned in FSX, not via FSUIPC.

Hopefully that should help you to get FS Force working satisfactorily.
Russel Dirks
Forum Moderator

maxam
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:08 am

Re: Question on assigning trim wheel and yoke.

Post by maxam » Sat Oct 29, 2016 6:08 pm

Hi Russ,

Thanks for the reply and helpful information. I will make the necessary changes and see how things go.

Robert
Burnaby BC

maxam
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:08 am

Re: Question on assigning trim wheel and yoke.

Post by maxam » Sun Oct 30, 2016 10:45 am

****EDIT****

This seems to be happening with the A2A Cessna 172 only. I will post on their forum and see if Steve can help me.

****EDIT 2****

I just figured it out, I found the A2A trim setting and inverted the trim selection. All is good in the world lol.


Hi Russ,

I have removed the trim wheel from FSUIPC, assigned it to FSForce Profile Manager in the Controller Assignement as "Trim" and added and calibrated the trim wheel in Prepar3D. The trim wheel is listed in Prepar3D as:

2 - Pro Flight Cessna Wheel

The problem is that the action of the wheel in the sim is reversed from how I move it manually, so I have tried adding the following to the Iris Section FSForce.cfg:

[General]
TrimWheel=Joystick:2:XAxis <---- I have tried removing this entry as well.
TrimWheelReverseAxis=1

I have tried using the FSX and FSForce trim system, checked and unchecked reverse (in P3D and FSForce) but the issue remains.

I have the following controller types listed:

0 - Mouse Yoke
1 - Mouse Look
1 - Pro Flight Cessna Yoke
2 - Pro Flight Cessna Trim Wheel
3 - Iris Dynamics Yoke

I can normally figure these issues out with the use of the internet but this one has me stumped.

Rob

Post Reply